Barolo Palace is a references and pays homage to the DIVINE COMEDY of DANTE ALIGHIERI.
It presents a unique architectural style with a mixture of neo-romantic, neo-Gothic, and even the dome with its unique Indian style from the Bhubaneshwar region that represents the tantric union between Dante and Beatriche, the protagonists of the Divine Comedy.
Located on the Avda. De Mayo 1370 and Victoria (today Hipólito Yrigoyen), the covered area of 16,630 m2 it was. In 1919 he began building the palace became the highest in Latin America, and one of the world’s tallest reinforced concrete.
Luis Barolo, progressive and powerful farmer, came to Argentina in 1890. He was the first who brought cotton spinning machines and dedicated to the import of tissues. He installed the first combed wool spinning country and initiated the first crop of cotton in the Chaco.
On the centenary of the May Revolution, he met Arq. Mario Palanti (1885-1979), whom he hired for the project of a building he had in mind. This would become a property exclusively for rent. Luis Barolo thought, like all European installed in Argentina, that Europe would suffer numerous wars that destroy entire continent.
Desperate to preserve the ashes of the famous Dante Alighieri, he wanted to build a design inspired by the poet’s work, “The Divine Comedy” building.
The land chosen to erect the palace had an area of ??1365 m2 and a front of 30.88 meters.
With a total of 24 floors (22 floors and 2 basements), 100 meters high were made possible by a special concession granted by Mayor Luis Cantilo in 1921, surpassing by almost four times the maximum allowed by the avenue.
Until the highest point of the dome is 90 meters, reaching 100 with a large rotating beacon of 300,000 spark that made him visible from Uruguay. A plant’s own self-sufficient in energy. In the 20s, this will become what today would be called “intelligent building”. Since then, there are 2 lifts and 9 lifts, two of which are hidden.
The latter responded to the commercial activities of Barolo. When you get the goods entered from the forklift access located in what today is Hipólito Yrigoyen to the 2 basements, 1,500 m2 each. Barolo used the hidden elevators to move from its offices on the ground floor, 1st and 2nd floor, up to the underground avoiding contact with their tenants, who occupied the premises from the third floor.
From the beginning the Palace caused some puzzlement. Spoke of Venetian style “Italian remorse“, gothic romantic, sand castle, or quasi-Gothic.
Construction was completed in 1923 to be blessed on July 7 by the apostolic nuncio Monsignor Giovanni Beda Cardinali.
Downstairs it ran until his disappearance, the news agency “Saporitti“.
Today it is a building exclusively for offices.
Source: Sitio Oficial Palacio Barolo